Easy on the eyes

I don’t really know how much visual aesthetics play a role in a person’s transit experience–whether or not some chooses to ride transit based on how beautiful or ugly they find a station or a bus to be.  I would suspect it plays some role, though maybe not a make-or-break one (as in, “I’d ride, but the station is just so ugly.”).

Nevertheless, I stumbled onto these striking subway stations around the world and was pretty mesmerized.  Obviously, I’m going to ride transit regardless of how nice it looks, but this almost becomes a tourist attraction.  I don’t know that it’s the kind of thing I’d support having massive public financial backing (i.e., higher fares or taxes for stunning subway stops), but it would certainly make me look forward to riding, and it would become the pride and joy of a city or area.

Leave a Reply

